Formed in 1968, this body consists of towns within 12 counties that voluntarily wish to be part of the AACOG.  Because membership is voluntary, not all towns within a county may be part of this group.  Currently, the counties involved are Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Frio, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Medina and Wilson.  Its basic function is to unify public services within its membership and to try and eliminate duplication of these services.  While it has the authority to plan, assist local governments, and deliver public services, it does not have the power to tax or regulate its citizens.  State law requires that the council consist “primarily” of local elected officials. 

Take Action!

Each one of us doing our part will make a difference... Take action today!